There has been more developments in wedding plans and such and I wanted to update!  My sister’s wedding is a month and a half away and the craziness has already started.  Yesterday was one of the three bridal showers that will be thrown in the honor of my sister.  I didn’t think I was going to make it because every Saturday I work afternoons, but yesterday I worked a morning so I was able to go!  I was reluctant at first, just because I was not feeling social since the past two weeks have been stressful and crazy.  I even told her I didn’t know if I was going to make it.  Which is silly looking back at the day, because this will only happen once.  This is a big event for my whole family since she is the first of us siblings to be getting married and it’s Rachel!  People have talked about her getting married for as long as I can remember.  I arrived a little later at the bridal shower and I was not dressed appropriately.  I mean I looked fine, t-shirt, jeans, ballet flats and some jewelry, but once I saw what type of shower it was, I wanted to run out there and don my garden party, tea dress.  Not like I have such a thing, but I’m sure I could dig something up that would have been presentable.  Women filled the house!  I mean filled, like they were everywhere.  And there was my sister in the middle of it all, beaming and looking lovely as ever.  I saw that she was wearing a dress and cardigan of mine and I was pleased how great she looked.  At this point in the shower, all the women were going around telling their names and their connection to the groom’s family.  This shower was thrown by the groom’s mother, so it was all his family and friends.  I pop my head into the living room, peering over shoulders and Rachel sees me and her face lights up.  She beckons me to come in the room a little more and I introduce myself as the bride’s sister.  It was so much fun to say!  The whole day I was, “The bride’s sister.” 

     There was tea and spiked punch, little finger foods and dainty china to complete the whole day.  Most of the bridesmaids were there, so we all stuck together, eating and talking.  I met so many ladies yesterday, I can not imagine how the wedding will be.  There was a lot of smiling and small talk and laughter placed at the right moments.  At these sort of events you have to be charming and full of grace, at least that is how I like to present myself.  (I guess I got a little carried away from watching too much Gossip Girl).  But every lady that I talked to all gushed about how amazing Rachel is.  And I could not agree more, I loved seeing all those people (women) there just for her.  Just to celebrate her new life, it was an amazing day and I loved being there for her.  She is a beautiful, amazing woman and I could not be happier for her and Daniel. 

   Let’s just say I had a lot of fun, even though afterwards I felt exhausted from smiling too much and my head was spinning from all the talking around me.  Fill a house of women, especially for a bridal shower, and I promise you will hear so much squealing, chattering and giggling…oh my word, you won’t even know what to do with yourself.  I am mostly saying this for the men out there, letting you know it is worse than you could ever imagine and for the women, you know exactly what I am talking about.

