A few days ago I was given a decent size box full of books! It was better than Christmas and my birthday combined. Best part of my week, for sure. I kept taking book after book out of the box squealing at the titles. My library is growing steadily and this satisfies me greatly. Who knows if I will ever read them all, maybe when I am old I will find time to just sit and read all day. Doesn’t that sounds grand?

Some of my favorite books I own: 

Ella Enchanted (I have read this book more than a dozen times)

Uglies, Pretties, Specials (never was a sci-fi fan, but i love this series by Scott Westerfeld!)

Water For Elephants (was in the box of books, but I have read it before and it’s amazing. buy it, borrow it, sit in a book store for hours to devour this wonderful story, because it is awesome. Just saying)

Time Traveler’s Wife (of course…#1 fav book)

 Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (the title is funky, but I promise it is an amazing book! Takes place after WWII. LOVE)

Redeeming Love (I cried after reading the prologue. The prologue!!! It’s so good)

My complete set of Jane Austen’s novels. All six of them together, from the same publisher with beautiful illustrations on front. Got them 30% off, cause I worked at BAM. Perks of being a bookseller.

My two books by Jeanette Walls, Glass Castle and Half Broke Horses. She’s a brilliant writer. I love memoirs and biographies. I need to own more…

Little Woman by Alcott. One of my favorite stories of all time, because I can completely relate. (four sisters in my family altogether)

Romeo and Juliet: This is my favorite Shakespeare play. I don’t know why, because it really isn’t that great. But I love Juliet’s character. And my twin sister got me this book for my b-day, I don’t know, it’s just really special to me.

I also love all my literature text books I kept from college because I’m a nerd like that.

I have many, many more wonderful books, but these are a few of my favorites.

 

here are some quotes about reading:

Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.  ~Charles W. Eliot

Always read something that will make you look good if you die in the middle of it.  ~P.J. O’Rourke

I find television to be very educating.  Every time somebody turns on the set, I go in the other room and read a book.  ~Groucho Marx

I know every book of mine by its smell, and I have but to put my nose between the pages to be reminded of all sorts of things.  ~George Robert Gissing

You know you’ve read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you have lost a friend.  ~Paul Sweeney

Good friends, good books and a sleepy conscience:  this is the ideal life.  ~Mark Twain

No man can be called friendless who has God and the companionship of good books.  ~Elizabeth Barrett Browning

Never judge a book by its movie.  ~J.W. Eagan

