I heard someone recently say that the biggest truth to your life is your story. That everyone has a story and it is what makes them who they are.

     I think this person was talking about in reference to a walk with the Lord. You can only tell a person so much about Jesus until they believe it…or don’t. The best thing is to tell them your story and your experiences, it will make it more real for them than just quoting from a book. (At least that’s what it looks like to some people)

     So, I was thinking. What is my story? What do I have that I can share with people? Where I have been, who I am because of it and how will it affect other. I think that’s a really good place to start. I think my ‘about me’ talks about people telling their stories and that is what this blog is for me. An outlet to tell my story. To show who I am through writing, because writing is my passion. It’s what I love to do, so what better way to share my life than through writing! I am not going to go in full detail about my life, but these are just little snippets of who I am.  

     I have said for a long time that I want to be remembered for my faith. I want my life to be a living testimony of Jesus. I may go through seasons of my life where it is quite evident and than others, I am not the best person to look to. Everyone goes through their rough patches in life. What I want my story to be and what it has been is that I am faithful to the Lord and He is faithful to me. That is all that matters.

     I think a story is a journey and I am definitely not over with mine, I still have a lot more to write. I have been through a lot, I have come so far and for that I am thankful. I think I can pretty much say I have been through the good, the bad and the ugly. Who hasn’t though? My dad tells me that we all have our cross to bear. No person’s is greater than the others.

     One thing I love more than anything, and I’m not just saying this, is to find out people’s stories. To see where they have been and possibly relate to it in some way. I am a people person and it is very easy for me to relate to people. I like to listen and find something that I can relate to and be able to connect with them. It’s not always easy, but it is something I definitely like to do. I Especially love talking to old people, I find them fascinating and wonderful. Their beautiful wrinkles showing a life long-lived and hopefully well-lived…even the grouchy ones you have to wonder what their lives were like to make them that way. Their history is quite amazing as well, I just love talking to old people! I have had many older people tell me I am an old soul, and to top it off my sister sometimes calls me ‘grandma.’ So endearing…but in some ways I take that as a compliment. I don’t mind being a bit nostalgic and old-fashioned, it’s a part of who I am. Anyways, basically what I was getting at is that people’s stories are important to me and I love hearing them.

     There are so many aspects to life that I love. That’s kind of a silly statement, but God is just so sovereign and He is so good to His people. He brings us through the bad times to make us stronger, to make us a better person. I’m okay with not knowing where my story is going to go…I am still unsure how some things are going to turn out. The anticipation is killing me! Almost like a suspense novel…or something like that. I just have to trust that everything is going to turn out in the end. God has a plan, He knows how it’s going to turn out. I need to give Him the pen and let Him write my life story.

