It’s so easy to see the potential in others and not in yourself. And it’s easy to see what other people should be doing with their lives, instead of your own…

I was talking with a friend the other day who is trying to decide what to do with her life. She went to school, has a bachelor’s degree, but has decided that she doesn’t want to pursue what she is ‘qualified’ for. She wants to take another path, do something different with her life. Which I think you should do whatever makes you happy. So I kept asking her what her passions are, if she had no limitations than what would she want to do!? I was trying to pull out of her, her dreams and aspirations, maybe help her get the ball rolling. And she was drawing a blank, she didn’t really know. Which is okay, sometimes it is hard to see and it takes time to figure it out. I know she works at a coffee shop and she loves people so I suggest opening a business. And she said she had thought of that as a possibility but she didn’t know where to start. I started exhorting her to read books and talk to other business owners and just start learning as much as she could about it. She was like, you make it sound so easy! And it really is that easy, the resources are there, we just have to go looking for them. It does take a lot of work and dedication on our part, but in the end it really isn’t that hard. I am preaching to myself. Because I know what I want to do. I want to be a published writer, I want to write movies, I want to pursue a career in film. But for some reason it is really hard to push myself along, it is hard to believe that I am capable of such a thing. People tell me all the time that they could see me doing film, or that one day I will be famous etc…encouraging me, seeing my potential when I just don’t! And I am not fishing for compliments here, I’m just saying that it is harder to see our potential. It’s like we are blinded by fear and insecurities. That is exactly what is holding most people back. So what if I dream of receiving an Oscar for best screenplay? Or dream of having a #1 New York Times bestseller, it is attainable. I am the one to limit myself. I think people like me and her need other people in our lives to pull that potential out of us. To let us know that we can do it and we are able to pursue our dreams.

I think God gets frustrated a lot, because He sees who we really are, who He has created us to be and we sometimes don’t get it. At least for me, I want to be all that God created me to be; but I get bogged down by, again, fear. (I really hate that little booger. It destroys lives) The list is endless what I think about myself and God is like if only you saw yourself through my eyes!!! How beautiful, how lovely you are etc…and I have really been praying that over my life. Asking God to see myself through His eyes, because what I see is not pretty inside or out. I see a lot of dark crap floating around in my soul that I want to just go away! I want the things holding me back to break off and so I can be free to live out my potential. To be secure in my writing and to be successful because of it. And I think I’m not the only person who struggles with this.

Why can’t I be the one to inspire?

Why can’t I just do it?

What is holding me back? What is holding YOU back?

Get rid of whatever it is and just do it. What do we have to lose?

It is so easy to talk and talk about it and actually walking it out…that takes work. But if only believed in ourselves a little more.

Romans 5:1-5

We have faith. We have Jesus to walk with us, to show us our potential and lead us in His way.

“Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.” Romans 8:32

 

