for two and a half weeks

If I had a choice, I would not be giving up Facebook for two weeks. ‘Facebooking’ has become part of my daily routine. First thing I do when I get up: check my Facebook. Last thing I do before bed: Check my Facebook.

Something is wrong with this picture.

Why do I feel guilty being on FB 24/7?  Because it is a waste of my life. I heard someone say that whatever you spend your time doing is what you are investing in. It becomes a priority and you will reap from whatever you sow into. And that’s how I feel whenever I surf on the internet for hours at a time and when I refresh my home page 600 times in five seconds. That’s 7200 times a minute. You do the math.

It is a time waster! But…I will have to admit, it is definitely a convenient way to keep up with friends. And it’s fun and I totally love Facebook and wouldn’t ever give it up…intentionally.

But it just so happened that my laptop’s battery and adaptor have stopped working completely. I didn’t freak out over it or anything. (Maybe a little) I’m pretty sure I said a thank you prayer and laughed being like, Okay God, I get the picture. So far I have been a week without my laptop and two days ago I sent it off to be fixed. That is another week and a half without it. I just might die (figuratively). I really think so. No Netflix instant play, no twitter (except the few tweets that come to my phone), no e-mail, no Facebook, no stumbling…nada. Totally disconnected.

But that’s okay!!!

I see it as an opportunity to spend more time with God, to read, be artistic. Not ‘waste’ my time. I still have internet at work which is nice so I have access to my blog. I think that’s what I would miss the most, not being able to post every day or so.

So the moral of this post is…don’t let Facebook take over your life, because it can and will be taken away from you!

I’m not sure if that is the life lesson I am learning through this whole thing…I think mostly God is bringing to light how I spend my time. I should be waking up every morning praying, reading my Bible. Same when I go to bed. That should be my ritual. It’s healthier, uplifting, nourishing…

so yeah, no Facebook for me for a while.

I’ll let you know how I do.

For now, I’m just going to go curl up in a corner and read and learn stuff. Not by Google or Wikipedia.

The end.

