Tags

     California, how I miss you! What an amazing trip. I can’t believe a month has gone by since I was there. It was seriously one of the best weeks I have ever spent anywhere. It was exactly what I needed at the moment, I came back feeling refreshed and inspired and like I could conquer the world! The LA area has such a crazy energy about it, the people are so inspiring! I love meeting people who are doing what they want, even if it means paying high rent and dealing with the horrendous traffic. I think it takes a lot of guts to live in an area like that. The girl me and my friend stayed with was one of these people. She was such a great hostess, providing a free place for us to stay and took it upon herself to drive us everywhere. Being a freelance photographer her work is extremely portable, so basically our week was her towing us around to her various jobs. She would drop us off in the area she needed to be in that day and let us roam free while she hunkered down in a coffee shop and worked. It was great. We walked everywhere! It was so much fun not really knowing where we were going or what we would come upon, we could just explore. My friend and I made quite the pair as well. He being very tall with blonde hair and European type clothing and me, being the pale redhead that I am. Everyone was tan and gorgeous out there, I felt out of place to say the least. At least in some parts, like the beach. But that’s not important. The first night there we hit the ground running. We landed at like nine pm, Andi picked us up and then she took us to Long Beach where we went to this place called La Creperie. They had the most amazing dessert crepes ever! Then we decided since it was our first night in the west coast, we had to at least touch the Pacific Ocean. Andi told us to be grateful we were going at night, because Long Beach’s beach wasn’t that beautiful. We didn’t care, we were just happy to be at  a beach! No matter how disgusting it was.
 
Through the week we ended up seeing a lot of So Cal. The places we went were, Long Beach (that’s where we stayed), Pasadena, Santa Monica, Topanga, Laguna Beach, San Clemente, Huntington Beach, Downtown LA, Silver Lake, Hollywood, Echo Park…I feel like there’s more, but that’s all I remember right now.
 
Here are a few pictures that I took with my phone to summarize some of the trip. I’ll write a few posts through the week focusing on the places we visited.
evening in Pasadena

 Above: My wonderful traveling companion. We have always talked about traveling together and so our first night we celebrated in Pasadena at this amazing Italian restaurant. We split a bottle of wine and had delicious pasta. Pasadena is a really beautiful place as well, definitely one of my favorite places we visited.

Below: We spent a day in San Clemente. This was me on our way there. I was in the backseat enjoying the scenery and the fact we were on our way to the beach! That was a fun day. The beach we went to was surfer territory, so we got to see some guys catch some waves. We then ate at this super good burrito place. Perfect day.

on my way to the beach

Surf open!

 Above: One day we went to a surf open at Huntington Beach. I fell completely in love with the surf culture. I totally could live here and maybe one day I will.

Below: This was taken from the pier at Huntington. Such a gorgeous day! I need to do a tribute just to the weather, it was perfection! The sun was never too hot and there was no humidity whatsoever! I was thrilled. But the water was freezing. It’s like that all year round.

Huntington Beach

Long Beach

 Above:  This was taken from the front porch of the house we stayed at. Our little house looked like this one. I love the orange. 

Below: This was the tiled floor from on the many coffee shops we went to. I swear all I had there was coffee and tacos, but I’m not complaining. It was kind of amazing. Just saying. This is from the Intelligenrsia in Silver Lake. A really hip place, they make delicious coffee. These baristas are like pros.

intelligentsia

Below: We met some really cool people while we there. These guys are circus artists and so what do they do to entertain us? Stand and balance on each other. Haha I learned how to do this trick as well. It was such a blast.

last morning

 Above: This was from my last morning in California. It was one of my favorite moments. I spent the whole morning (While Asa and Andi slept) writing, thinking, listening to music and watching the world go by. It was a good moment. (p.s. I totally have pajama shorts on, it just doesn’t look like it haha)

Below: Driving through Hollywood on the highway. The Hollywood sign was somewhere around there. We drove A LOT! To get anywhere it takes at least thirty minutes. So I was able to see a lot of So Cal just by driving everywhere!

driving down the highway

Below: I spent one day being a model. Hilarious, right? My friend, Asa, told me he would be doing some modeling while we were in CA and he was gonna pull me into it. I was like, yeah right, not gonna happen. Well, it did and I am so glad. I had such a blast. And Andi is a brilliant photographer! She has such a great eye. I am so glad I was able to be a part of this project.

So that was my California trip! We did a ton more and I’ll a few more posts about the trip. If you’re friends with me on FB you can see a whole album full of CA pics and also other photos from the photo shoot.

I really cannot wait until I get to go back. California, til next time. <3

p.s. sorry the pics are all funky. One reason why I don’t post a bunch of pics on here, because I really haven’t figured out an efficient way to do it!

