Oscar noms were announced this morning! Nothing too surprising amongst the nominees, they pretty much go along with the Golden Globes. I have my predictions, I’m not sure if they are accurate. I think mostly they are wishful thinking. So whether I’m right or wrong, I’m going to highlight who I think will win.  Listed below is a few of the categories, mainly the ‘big’ ones.

P.S. I was really disappointed to see 50/50 get snubbed. I thought the script was amazing and at least should have gotten a nomination. Also, I have seen maybe two of the movies nominated…I’ve been slacking this year. Last year I watched all ten nominated films. I plan on doing it again this year.

Best Picture

  • The Artist
  • The Descendants
  • Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
  • The Help
  • Hugo
  • Midnight in Paris
  • Moneyball
  • The Tree of Life
  • War Horse

Best Supporting Actor

  • Kenneth Branagh, My Week with Marilyn
  • Jonah Hill, Moneyball
  • Nick Nolte, Warrior
  • Christopher Plummer, Beginners
  • Max Von Sydow, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

Best Supporting Actress

  • Berenice Bejo, The Artist
  • Jessica Chastain, The Help
  • Melissa McCarthy, Bridesmaids
  • Janet McTeer, Albert Nobbs
  • Octavia Spencer, The Help

Best Actress

  • Glenn Close, Albert Nobbs
  • Viola Davis, The Help
  • Rooney Mara, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
  • Meryl Streep, The Iron Lady
  • Michelle Williams, My Week with Marilyn

Best Actor

  • Demian Bichir, A Better Life
  • George Clooney, The Descendants
  • Jean Dujardin, The Artist
  • Gary Oldman, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
  • Brad Pitt, Moneyball

Best Director

(Between him and Michel…idk)

  • Woody Allen, Midnight in Paris
  • Michel Hazanavicius, The Artist
  • Alexander Payne, The Descendants
  • Martin Scorsese, Hugo
  • Terrence Malick, The Tree of Life

Best Adapted Screenplay

(this is a tough one, cause I haven’t seen any of these films)

  • The Descendants, Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash
  • Hugo, John Logan
  • The Ides of March, George Clooney, Grant Heslov and Beau Willimon
  • Moneyball, Steve Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin. Story by Stan Chervin.
  • Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, Bridget O’ Connor and Peter Straughan

Best Original Screenplay

(I think this is wishful thinking)

  • The Artist, Michael Hazanavicius
  • Bridesmaids, Annie Mumolo and Kristen Wiig
  • Margin Call, J.C. Chandor
  • Midnight in Paris, Woody Allen
  • A Separation, Asghar Farhadi

Best Animated Feature

(I really have no idea…I was hoping Tin Tin would get nominated…so I guess I’ll go with what I expect to win…)

  • A Cat in Paris
  • Chico & Rita
  • Kung Fu Panda 2
  • Puss in Boots
  • Rango
 

It’ll be an interesting Academy Awards, for sure. I don’t think any GREAT films came out last year. Except for Midnight in Paris…I really think Woody deserves an Oscar for this one. It’s hard for me to find a film that really captures my attention and makes me go, “Wow! That was amazing.” I feel like most of those films are been there, done that…but, like I said, I haven’t seen many of the nominated films, so I can’t really say much. But none of them really capture my attention, maybe except for The Artist. I am dying to see that!

Anyways, I will follow up after Feb 26th. I will be asking for this evening off, because I certainly cannot miss this event! It’ll be lost of fun :) Just wish I could watch it with my sister, we always go nuts over the gowns and the nominees. We’ll probably be texting each other the whole time, that’s what we did last year.

What are your predictions?

xo

E

