{Spoiler Alert}

The Artist, now that is good film. This is why I love film! This is why I obsess over it so much! Because then people make beautiful, brilliant art and it’s amazing!!

I had a tremendous experience watching this masterpiece. First off, I realized it was Tuesday and cheap movie night as I have said before. I checked movies and times on the website and saw at the bottom that The Artist was showing. I freaked out, as you can imagine, proclaimed to my family that at 10:15 I was going to see this movie. No one wanted to come, but I didn’t care, I was going to see this movie!

I make it just in time and I have the entire theater to myself. I sit smack dab in the middle, perfect view, and sit back and enjoy the movie. And enjoy it, I did.

I am thoroughly impressed that a modern day filmmaker can pull off such an idea. Silent films are long gone, but yet he brings them back with ease and what a wonderful tribute to the silent era. Watching this movie definitely made me appreciate where movies been and how far they’ve come. I have always been a fan of old movies though, so I think that’s why I really got into this one.

First off, I really need to say that the music was awesome. It was the whole movie, it was what made the movie amazing. Well, at least one of the factors. I did love the parts in the movie when it was completely silent…so still and you just watched the actors carry out their part. It added so much emotion. That was what I loved most about the movie was how gripping it was, none of it was dull or predictable, it really kept you on the edge of your seat. And wanting more…you truly ended up caring for these characters and what happened to them. Whenever I hear people say they read something and that they wanted more! They say it like it’s a bad thing, like the writer or filmmaker didn’t make a conclusion, but in my mind. They did  something right, because then it makes you want to read or watch it again and again.

Anyways, I think the part that really set the mood and made you use your imagination was the first scene of the movie (go figure) When George is behind the screen and he’s waiting to see if his movie is a big hit, he stands there and listens for a good or bad response from the audience and when you see the expression on his face, you know the audience is roaring with applause. You can’t see it or hear it, but his face says it all. Brilliant!

I really loved how the director showed the discourse between George and his wife. They never spoke a word to one another, but you could tell she was tired of him and his fame. She would scribble all over his magazine covers and pictures, drawing mustaches and blacken his teeth. Just this simple act made it very clear, she was not in love with him anymore. And then when she finally does confront him about her unhappiness she tells him, “Talk to me. Why won’t you talk to me?” And then she screams in his face, “SPEAK!” The irony…it’s just wonderful. I loved that.

The second to last scene was the best though…it was so intense. Like, I was on the edge of my seat. I started crying because I was so relieved, you have no idea. I won’t say anything, because even though I gave a spoiler alert, I really feel like it’s not my place to give anything away, because it’s such a good scene.

And then the ending, just brilliant! I can’t tell you enough how much I loved this movie. I loved everything about it. And Jean Dujardin and Berenice Bejo make such a wonderful pair. She is just lovely!

You need to see The Artist. It won best picture of 2011 for a reason, it truly is a masterpiece.

