“I just wasn’t in the mood to be on earth that night. I get like that sometimes when it rains, or when I see sad movies…

I know now, from experience, that the path to joy winds through this dark valley. I think every well-adjusted human being has dealt squarely with his or her own depravity. I realize this sounds very Christian, very fundamentalist and browbeating, but I want to tell you this part of what the Christians are saying is true. I think Jesus feels strongly about communicating the idea of our brokeness, and I think it’s worth reflection. Nothing is going to change in the Congo until you and I figure out what is wrong with the person in the mirror.”

-Donald Miller “Blue Like Jazz”

I am re-reading Blue Like Jazz and I had forgotten how great of a writer Donald Miller is and how wonderfully he articulates things. I read this passage and could totally relate, so I felt like sharing it. If you haven’t read this book, I recommend it.

