I’ve been reading through the book of Matthew and I haven’t gotten very far but it has been enriching and wonderful to read through. Reading the four gospels never gets old, I love hearing the words and wisdom of Jesus. And one verse yesterday really stuck out to me, so I thought I would blog about it :)

The passage that this scripture comes from is where Jesus is talking about loving your enemies…which is very important and not very easy for me, personally, to do. In chapter 5 verse 45 he says, “For He makes the sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and the unjust.”

This really struck me. Like, this really revealed a lot of God’s heart to me. I don’t have a lot of words to explain what sort of revelation I gathered from this…so I’m going to try my best.

We serve a good God, there’s no question. And it just shows that He loves everyone, no matter what. Even though there are those that curse His name, don’t acknowledge Him at all and just altogether live a selfish life…He still provides for them. He gives us a new day, He gives us rain, He gives us food, He gives us breath…like all these simple things, but necessary things to live and He provides…I don’t know, I just thought it was really beautiful and wonderful of our Father.

It put it in perspective for me, because I deal often with people that do me wrong. Maybe it’s not intentional, sometimes I feel like it is, but it’s just their nature. So this really convicted me to love my enemies…this will mostly apply to the work place. There is drama wherever you work, I’m sure everyone can relate to this. Especially in the restaurant world…and when it’s only all girls that work together, things can get pretty catty…and it’s so hard for me to deal with. I get very stressed out and uneasy when I feel like people are against me. I wish I could say I don’t care what other people think about me, but I do. I really, genuinely want people like to me. Why that is? I’ll try to psychoanalyze myself: I think I try to see the good in everyone. I try to be positive towards people, because I know we all go through shit and have our own stuff to deal with and so maybe they’re not as terrible as I think they are. I don’t know what’s going on inside, what they’re dealing with, so it’s best give them the benefit of the doubt, and just try to treat them nicely. This is so much harder to do than to just write about it in my blog. But this is where my hearts at and I want to be better at treating people with kindness. Loving my enemies. Because they deserve sunshine and they deserve rain and most of all they deserve love.

Verse 44 says: But I say to you, love your enemies, bless those that curse you, do good to those that who hate you, and pray for those who spitefully use you and persecute you.

So anyways, this is what I got from this verse. I hope it encourages you to love your enemies…turn the other cheek, so to speak.

Have a great day!

