I am going to be 23 very soon and for some reason that sounds so old to me! No discrimination on anyone else, because I think growing older is a beautiful thing, but when it comes down to it…I am getting older. It doesn’t suck or anything but it does come as a little shock. Instead of discarding and bashing the age I am going to own it. In fact, I have begun the process of getting used to myself being 23. In my head, I am 23, simply because I have been telling myself that and other people, as well. My birthday is a week away, so I feel like it’s safe to start calling myself the age.

23, the age where I truly become an adult.

Every year is different, every age offers its new insights and pleasures and so I have to give my expectations of each age because that is what growing up is all about.

So what does 23 look like for me?

The process of graduate school, and graduating from my undergrad.

Living a completely healthy lifestyle and having responsibility be a priority.

Become more intentional with my thoughts, speech, acts, relationships…all the above. I just want to be more intentional with the way I live.

Pursuing a deeper relationship with Jesus.

Letting all the hurts of my youth fall away and dissipate and not have it count towards my future anymore.

Be present, be aware, be intentional, be thankful.

So here is to the new year of being 23! I hope it is the best year yet.

“Living is like tearing through a museum. Not until later do you really start absorbing what you saw, thinking about it, looking it up in a book, and remembering – because you can’t take it in all at once.”
-Audrey Hepburn

 

