One of my favorite days of the year! The day Oscar Nominations are announced. And like any film nerd I like to make my own predictions. I usually have this tradition that every year, before the Academy Awards, I watch every movie nominated. It’s a crazy feat and I think only one year I made it through every single movie…but this year is much, much different. Because sadly…I haven’t seen one on the list. Not one! I am totally okay with this because I have been so occupied with a lot of other things. So I am making my predictions based off of what I desire to see happen. Even though I’ve been hearing things, etc…there are some performances I think that are worthy of winning. Okay, here goes.

BEST PICTURE:

12 Years a Slave 

Captian Phillips

Gravity

Philomena

The Wolf of Wall Street

Nebraska

American Hustle

Dallas Buyers Club

Her

 

BEST DIRECTOR:

David O Russel – American Hustle

Alfonso Cuaron – Gravity

Alexander Payne – Nebraska

Steve McQueen – 12 Years

Martin Scorsese – Wolf of Wall Street

 

BEST ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE

Christian Bale – American Hustle

Bruce Dern – Nebraska

Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street (I think it’s Leo’s year! I just have this feeling…crossing my fingers)

Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave

Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club

 

 

BEST ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE:

Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine

Amy Adams – American Hustle

Sandra Bullock – Gravity

Judi Dench – Philomena

Meryl Streep – August Osage County

 

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR:

Bradley Cooper – American Hustle

Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips

Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave

Jonah Hill – The Wolf of Wall Street

Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club

 

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS:

Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle (She did win at the globes…and she’ll probably win…I just feel bad for the other nominees)

Lupita Nyong’o- 12 Years a Slave (Although, it would be awesome to see her win as well)

Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine

Julia Roberts – August Osage County

June Squibb – Nebraska

 

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE FILM:

Despicable Me 2

Frozen (Duh!)

The Croods

Ernest & Celestine

The Wind Rises

 

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY:

Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke – Before Midnight

Billy Ray – Captain Phillips

Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope – Philomena

John Ridley – 12 Years a Slave (I think this movie is gonna take a lot this year)

Terence Winter – The Wolf of Wall Street

 

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY:

Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell – American Hustle

Woody Allen – Blue Jasmine

Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack – Dallas Buyers Club

Spike Jonze – Her (Spike Jonze is weird and should be commended for it…)

Bob Nelson – Nebraska

