After three days off from school, one planned (MLK Day) and two unexpected (SNOW!), I went back to being a UMW student. Not that I wasn’t a UMW student at the beginning of this week…I mean, I kept up with all my assignments, etc. But I also slept in later, saw some friends, did some fun stuff, participated in snow related activities such as sledding! It was so much fun.

I also cannot believe it is only the second week of the semester…I mean, I was gaining so much momentum and then bam! I get a little taste of freedom and now all I can think about is graduation.

Anyways, back to being a UMW student again: I was sitting in my Appalachian Folklore class (such an interesting class) and we are reading, Fair and Tender Ladies by Lee Smith. If you haven’t read it…do it only if you are totally okay with getting your heart ripped out. It is such a sad story but really good. Many times I wanted to throw the book across the room because every page it just keeps getting worse…it’s an emotional roller coaster, for sure. My professor begins discussing the novel before we all jump in a for a group debate about the characters, story, symbolism, all that good stuff…and she points out that the narrator of the story, Ivy, offers her story through letters. My professor talks about the significance of letters and deems it as an art form. She claimed that this art form for Ivy was a way to bring “order to the chaos.” The exact phrase she used. She then went on to say that all art forms, for that matter, serve the purpose of bringing order to one’s life; that people make/create art to make sense of the chaos. It made sense to me and kind of stuck with me the rest of the day.

Tonight, on my way to go babysitting, I turn on the radio to the Christian station. I usually never listen to the radio but I wanted to get a different mix of music and basically fill the silence. Phil Wickham comes on. I absolutely love his music and it was a song I had never heard before so I turn it up and begin listening to the lyrics. It’s an amazing song about who Jesus is and what He has done for us. I was really getting into it. And then there’s a line that says, “You bring order to the chaos.” And it hit me in that moment that it’s not art or our creativity, it’s Jesus! He is the answer. And I just got flooded with this revelation that it is Jesus, our Savior, who came to us, came to this world and brought order to all the chaos. And He continues to bring order throughout our lives, every single day. He helps us make sense of whatever is going around us and He becomes our order.

All along, it is Jesus. He is our hope, salvation, light…It brought me so much hope and so much joy. I was pretty overwhelmed and still am.

“These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world” (John 16:33).

Let Jesus into your life and let Him bring order to your chaos.

be blessed

E

